Some news


This year three physcists in the field of quantum optics get Nobel prize for phyiscs. I am happy to know this news. One of them, Roy J. Glauber is 80 years old and viewed as the father of modern-day quantum optics. The Ig Nobel prize is out yesterday and I found a very interesting photo on its 2005 ceremony web page . Glauber swapt paper plane on the ceremony of Ig Nobel prize for 10 years. Now he got his real Nobel prize. Your can get more information on this page.

Nature Physics published its first issue this month. I scaned the journal and found many articles related with quantum information. Unfortunately nothing is related directly with my works. I will go on read this magzine.

I found an open access journal New Journal of Physics, which is owned by Institute of Physics and Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. All of the articles is published online and can be downloaded freely. For authors who want to publish articles on this journal, they should pay£500. So this journal is author funded journal. The 2004 impact factor of this journal is 3.095, much higher than many old first class phycical journals. I like this journal for its free access and high quality.

